jump to navigation

Was That BDSM I heard you say? No! It's SNSD! August 21, 2009

Posted by Charith in Music.
trackback

Ever been curious about what’s out there in this rather rotund world in which we live? Ever hated something without giving it go first? I have. All the time, in regards to a myriad of subject materials. There are things in this world that we just can’t accept and as a result we fear them.

I was and suppose still am one of these people. But it’s nice to shed some skin once in a while, feel the warmth of the sun on myself. By that, I mean stay indoors cooped up in my room, roughly 5 metres by 6 metres, tap-tap-tapping away on my crappy, lappy keyboard. Every now and then, basically everyday, you come across something new (at least new to you) on the interwebs and you might be curious to find out what it’s all about. Otherwise you’ll either love the look/sound of it, or hate it, based on sheer taste.

Well, finally getting to the point of this post, I’d like to introduce to all of you, whether you know them or not, like them, love them, or despise their very essence  –  So Nyuh Shi Dae, also known as SNSD or SoShi.

SNSD is a Korean pop (or just simply K-Pop) girlband, aimed at teenage girls, although they appeal to so much more than just this demographic. The group is comprised of nine relatively young women, (in order of official announcement) Yoona, Tiffany, Yuri, Hyoyeon, Sooyoung, Seohyun, Taeyeon, Jessica, and Sunny.

Now before you go closing your window/tab or changing webpages, just put up for me for a little longer, it might be worth your while. Yes, I know, they’re a K-Pop band – what the hell am I thinking to love them so? Well, whether or not I’m in my right mind nowadays, I care to share. My first encounter with SNSD was an only white version of their rather well-known song ‘Gee’ on Youtube. I was directed there by a friend to help forget the memory of a disturbing video. Now I had already heard a little about SoShi and I had no intention of liking them. So I clicked the link, not knowing that it’d lead to ‘Gee’. At first I thought, “Egad! Is this THAT!?” and I proceeded to laugh through most of the duration of the video.

By the time I’d watched it once, I had enjoyed the good laugh so much that I decided to watch it again… And again and so on and so forth. You know the drill, I’m sure. Eventually, it got to a point where I liked the song – it was admittedly quite catchy. Starting from a meek zero, all of the girls grew to appeal to me in some way. I now love them all, although some more than others.

Reading the comments the users made on the Youtube videos that I subsequently watched to learn more about the girls, there seemed to be some depth to them, which I find rather admirable. I then proceeded to do something that I have never before in my life done. I looked for fansites.

Yes, I know, it ought to be a sin, in some cultures, but I was very intrigued by the idea that they might actually have real personalities. So, after a curt search that took next to no effort, I stumbled upon this gem –  http://snsdkorean.wordpress.com/

Don’t go being apprehensive now, we’ve come so far! I would not be hooked on SNSD now if I didn’t visit this fansite. I just love the posts that the team there make. They aren’t the kind of fans who idolise the girls so much that they only ever say nice things. I spend some time everyday having a few laughs there. Look out for those theory posts – they’ll get you going.

Furthermore, from using snsdkorean, I have learnt more about the individual members of the band and learnt more songs than just ‘Gee’. I’ve even watched a few live streams with the team and readers there – it’s a great experience. Each girl has her own quirks, but these make them so down to Earth and I wouldn’t want them any other way.

Am I a fan of So Nyuh Shi Dae? No, I wouldn’t say so. I’m merely a guy who’s really interested in them as both a band and as individuals. They’ve seriously grown on me and I may not like all of their music, but there are a few that are catchy or that I just simple enjoy listening to. I’ve persisted despite the chiding and disappointment of others around me. Why? Because it makes me feel elated to love these girls as much as I do. They’re something to look forward to.

I don’t expect everyone to like them, but I do believe that many will enjoy aspects of them. Try checking out their dance in Round 6 of the Star Dance Battle, on Youtube. That made me feel lightheaded for the first day.

Well, I think I’ve said enough and your eyes have undergone enough of my torture by text, so I’ll leave off here. Here are some pictures of SNSD for your viewing pleasure/curiosity.

Photo Credits: I found all the pictures on the So Nyuh Shi Dae Fansite (http://snsdkorean.wordpress.com/). Original source references can be found there

– Deft

Comments»

1. geo2606 - August 21, 2009

Pretty crazy shit you’re into, Charith.

2. Deft-Monkey - August 21, 2009

Best thing since sliced bread, my friend.

3. Geo - August 21, 2009

Sliced bread. You truly are a god.


Leave a Reply

