jump to navigation

Chivalry is dead. Nein! September 5, 2009

Posted by Swifty in Observations.
trackback

Oh we’ve heard that so many times, have we not ? Okay, anyway, the reason for this post is purely because it seems like an unexplored topic that few plan to do. I know, you may say “Oi, you ! I was going to do something like that!” Well, in reply, all I will say is this – Bad Luck.

So, chivalry, what is it ? Chivalry, by, once again, Wikipedia’s standards, is:

Chivalry[1] is a term related to the medieval institution of knighthood. It is usually associated with ideals of knightly virtues, honor and courtly love. The word is derived from the French word chevalier, indicating one who rides a horse (Fr. cheval).

Today, the terms chivalry and chivalrous are used to describe courteous behavior, especially that of men towards women.


Of course, we must use the definition of “couteous behavior, especially that of men towards men women”, as a basis for this argument.

Firstly, I’d like to point out, that in numerous ads on television, we have seen imagery from beer commercials stating that chivalry is dead, and that the female form of humans slaughtered and hacked it’s way through the tangle of weeds that is our (men) courteous nature. But why do I complain? I complain because women still believe chivalry is alive and living. The fact that they still want more from us makes me wonder what more can we give? We already do (almost) everything they ask, be it shopping, packing the bags, lifting stuff they don’t want to, or just giving them the odd shag. As crude as it sounds, there isn’t much left to give.

So why do they keep pestering for something they want need, and thus, brings me to the conclusion that they will somehow bring back chivalry, one way or another.

Comments»

1. Deft-Monkey - September 5, 2009

Chivalry isn’t dead, it has merely changed along with the times. No, not dead, rather just seen as somethin new and not commonly observed as too many people lack the insight.

I’m disappointed. No talk of ‘basterds’? What is this!?

Another Soul - September 5, 2009

Oh, the Basterds will be on tomorrow !

2. rozz - September 5, 2009

D:

I’m not sure if I like how you talk about how men do what women want.
It’s only because they want to get in our pants anyway.

Sorry for a mini-rant, but if it weren’t for boys driven by their 7-inch toys, I wouldn’t be as notorious or messed up as I am; or atleast as you people say I am. That’s right, I have heard the rumours, from your school in particular and it’s stupid to say that all men are courteous beings and I’m the lowly one here.

But then again, my current beau is quite the gentleman.

Nay to generalisation; kthxbai.

Another Soul - September 6, 2009

Generalisation is a bitch, I agree, but it is a generalisation nonetheless.
And our school is fucked up as it is. >.<


Leave a Reply

