jump to navigation

Written With One Eye Closed September 5, 2009

Posted by Charith in Day-to-day happenings, Films.
trackback

Goodnight, Moon

As I was walking home from the bus stop, the full moon caught my attention and I just stood on the spot gazing at it for a minute. I was going to take a photo, but the camera on my mobile phone just wouldn’t cut it. So, I went home, dumped my gear, located the camera and tripod, and went to a nearby park that was rather distanced from any street light. I sat on the grass, taking photos of the moon, never being satisfied with them. I ended up spending about an hour out there, cross-legged in a dark and empty park, with earphones in my ears, listening to Michael Bublé and taking very evidently amateur photographs. It was calming and elating, alone beneath the clear night sky with an indescribable moon magical in its presence. My camera wasn’t good enough to convey its majesty. This ended what shaped out to be a terrific day.

Now to send chronology to Hell, and go back in time (Quentin Tarantino does it – why can’t I?). In the morning, I went with Raptor and a few other guys from school to the University of New South Wales open day. While waiting at the train station for the mode of transport to arrive, I sighted many girls and a few guys clad from head to toe in rather elaborate articles of clothing from my basement. Oh, cosplayers – they kill my dreams about anime, but make for some much appreciated thought provocation. When I told the others on the train about them, Raptor told me that an anime convention called Animania, I believe, was on today. I almost left the others behind just to go to this, but I thought better of it, and traveled to the original point of destination. A part of me still hurts for not going, but I know that I made the right decision.

The whole UNSW experience was somewhat forgettable. We just went to a few lectures. I was a tad bit lonely as none of the others came to my lectures, but I don’t blame them. English and media isn’t for everyone. Apart from that and also the free energy drinks, popcorn and fairy floss, a few tasty birds were sighted. I probably wouldn’t throw them in my oven, but they were enough to attract some of my admiration. We left at a little past noon, as everyone except Raptor and myself had maths tutoring to attend. The two of us dashing, young rascals snickered at the plight of two of our friends getting about half an hour late for their class. I reassured myself that they would have done the same thing in our position like a fool fox.

I was going to do some shopping to get my daddio a Fathers Day gift, as much as I detest the justification for it. Raptor was seeing ‘Inglourious Basterds’ with his friend at 2:30 in the afternoon and was kind enough to invite me to tag along. The movie was brilliant. I watched it thinking the whole time, “Only Tarantino.”

His work is just so compelling to watch. I won’t talk about the film itself too much, as Raptor was quite keen to make a post about it. However, I will say that I adored it, despite the severe lack of plotline.

While I agreed to not make a post on the film as a whole, I said nothing about the characters. There was one that particularly took my fancy, this being the German officer, Colonel Hans Landa. This kid, this kid – is absolutely villainous. At least for the most part of the film, his phallus got soft at the end. He is one pragmatic son of a German (I have nothing against the nation – it just saved me from being profane). His numerous appearances demanded fearful respect for his wicked ingenuity. He’s the type of person who you definitely would not want to talk to. Myself, on the other hand, would do most anything to have the chance to get to know that dark ace. His aura, his method of thinking, his personality – it all creates within me a colourful, accelerating and tightening swirl of jealousy. One can’t help but admire his attributes that make him the perfect antagonist. Mummy, I want that one – yes, woman, the oversized pipe as well, and… The sly and devious villainy.

Indeed, Landa, my hero. He violently raped my mind (that’s one virgin down, two to go), making what was already an excellent film with some serious testicles into something even more. I shall label ‘Inglourious Basterds’ as my film of the year. Would I pay to see it again? You can bet your life money body on it.

The pipe just screams Manly

The pipe just screams "Manly"

Credits: http://www.filmofilia.com/tag/til-schweiger/

___________________________________________

Well, as exhausted as I am now after finally getting home, I was intent on making a post. I felt encouraged by today’s events, and despite my eyes already starting to slack off, I will make an attempt at a double post, although don’t expect anything of my usual length. Also, if I were not me, my central words in this post surrounding the topic of ‘Inglourious Basterds’ would have included many F-bombs, female canines and excrement. However, I like to keep it clean. You ought to see my prowess with a broom.

Now to send chronology to Hell, and go back in time (Quentin Tarantino does it – why can’t I?). In the morning, I went with Raptor and a few other guys from school to the University of New South Wales open day. While waiting at the train station for the mode of transport to arrive, I sighted many girls and a few guys clad from head to toe in rather elaborate costumes. Oh, cosplayers – they kill my dreams about anime, but make for some much appreciated thought provocation. When I told the others on the train about them, Raptor told me that an anime convention called Animania, I believe, was on today. I almost left the others behind just to go to this, but I thought better of it, and travelled to the original point of destination. A part of me still hurts for not going, but I know that I made the right decision.

The whole UNSW experience was somewhat forgettable. We just went to a few lectures. I was a tad bit lonely as none of the others came to my lectures, but I don’t blame them. English and media isn’t for everyone. Apart from that and also the free energy drinks, popcorn and fairy floss, a few tasty birds were sighted. I probably wouldn’t throw them in my oven, but they were enough to attract some of my attention. We left at a little past noon, as everyone except Raptor and myself had maths tutoring to attend. The two of us ravishing, young rascals snickered at the plight of two of our friends getting about half an hour late for their class. I reassured myself that they would have done the same thing in our position.

I was going to do some shopping do get my daddio a Fathers Day gift, as much as I detest the justification for it. Raptor was seeing ‘Inglourious Basterds’ with his friend at 2:30 in the afternoon and was kind enough to invite me to tag along. The movie was brilliant. I watched it thinking the whole time, “Only Tarantino.”

His work is just so compelling to watch. I won’t talk about the film itself too much, as Raptor was quite keen to make a post about it. However, I will say that I adored it, despite the severe lack of plotline.

While I agreed to not make a post on the film as a whole, I said nothing about the characters. There was one who particularly took my fancy, that being the German officer, Colonel Hans Landa. This kid, this kid – is absolutely villainous. At least for the most part of the film, his phallus got soft at the end. He is one pragmatic son of a German (I have nothing against the nation – it just saved me from being profane). His numerous appearances demanded fearful respect for his wicked ingenuity. He’s the type of person who you definitely would not want to talk to. Myself, on the other hand, would do most anything to have the chance to get to know that dark ace. His aura, his method of thinking, his personality – it all creates within me a colourful, accelerating and tightening swirl of jealousy. One can’t help but admire his attributes that make him the perfect antagonist. Mummy, I want that one – yes, woman, the oversized pipe as well, and… The sly and devious villainy.

Indeed, Landa, my hero. He violently raped my mind (That’s one virgin down, two to go), making what was already an excellent film with some serious testicles into something even more. I shall label ‘Inglourious Basterds’ as my film of the year. Would I pay to see it again? You can bet your life money body on it.

The pipe just screams Manly

The pipe just screams "Manly"

Credits: http://www.filmofilia.com/tag/til-schweiger/

___________________________________________

Well, as exhausted as I am now after finally getting home, I was intent on making a post. I felt encouraged by today’s events, and despite my eyes already starting to slack off, I will make an attempt at a double post, although don’t expect anything of my usual length. Also, if I were not me, my central words in this post surrounding the topic of ‘Inglourious Basterds’ would have included many F-bombs, female canines and excrement. However, I like to keep it clean. You ought to see my prowess with a broom.

Comments»

1. callypigian - September 9, 2009

“Indeed, Landa, my hero. He violently raped my mind (that’s one virgin down, two to go),”

You are a freak my boy, a freak with rather entertaining blog posts but nonetheless a freak. Also the movie isn’t as great as how you described from what I’ve heard?

Deft-Monkey - September 9, 2009

You really need to watch it yourself to decide.

For me, I think there were two downsides, these being the mysterious disappearance of two of the basterds, and Landa going all cowardly at the end when he could have easily killed basically everyone.


Leave a Reply

