jump to navigation

The Impermanence of Life September 29, 2009

Posted by Charith in Observations.
trackback

Gotcha. Well, sort of. I am talking about things that don’t last, but not life, I’m tired of Life’s questions and it’s boring to be making up answers. I decided to talk about something completely pointless that is really just a waste of both yours and my time. Yes, free time is lovely.

Thinking about it now, this topic may actually have some meaning to it – it’s basically the ease with which any and every object seems to break. Now, I’m quite the clumsy fellow, so I have a certain knack for leaving a path of destruction wherever I go. See any broken windows, television sets, sets of legs – who you gonna call? The police.

Will a back-rub suffice?

Will a back-rub suffice?

I think you’ll find it rather unspectacular how I came upon this subject matter, but I’ll tell you anyway because as of right now, I can’t remember what I was going to write. I just happened to by staring at the pink heart-covered blue mug on my desk and wondering what it would look like if the empty vessel shattered in slow motion, and I mean super slow motion – tennis Grand Slam style (yo). I believe that I was reminded of just how many mugs I’ve broken over the years, which led to the incident of a drinking glass breaking in my mouth (that was buckets of shard-lickin’ fun) eventually relating to the efficient and effective deconstruction of material objects in general.

Most everything is so fragile, that if you simply touch it a little less tenderly than it cares for, it will break like that cougar’s hip automechanic who overcharges you for the servicing of your car. What a prat. We’re constantly snapping our bones like our fingers (to some hip and happenin’ beat, mind you), so do we make products in the image of ourselves in that sense? No, I doubt it. I’m not even sure what I’m on about as for some reason fatigue is setting in early. I need me some hot Korean (I hope I fall into a crevasse) chocolate, but that would require me to stop what I’m doing, get up, out of my room, down the stairs, into the kitchen, to the fridge, to the cupboard to get a mug, to the microwave, to the pantry cupboard, back to the microwave, back to the pantry cupboard, and finally back to my room. I hope that hurt your head because I have no idea what I just said and I’ll be damned if I have to read it.

Right. Fragile. Everything. Got it. (You try this while listening to Elton John.)

One time when i was about 8 years old I was ‘dancing’ in my room and one of my hands hit an open cupboard door. Sure, it hurt, but it was surprising to see the edge of the wooden cupboard chip off. This is a considerably large chip, mind you, but I won’t take a photo of it because I have the feeling that my photography is of a comically low standard.

This is what I propose – something indestructible that I can take anywhere without exploding or falling through the Earth’s crust and to the core, although that would be hot. Very hot, indeed(sizzle). I just want something that I can bash around without having it crumble before my eyes yet it needs to give a satisfying feeling that it’s really taking the blows. Not like some plush toy. Let’s just say that one time in primary school I let loose on a class teddy bear with a golf club. 7-iron, I believe. I then told my mum to wash it in the washing machine. What I didn’t tell her is that I was hoping that the cursed bear would drown, but details are always so finnicky.

Indestructibility is indeed something that many manufacturers try to achieve, but they can never totally achieve it, so what’s the point in my wish? Frankly, I want something that will crack and crunch when I give it a little tough love, but then it needs to still remain in-tact. Perhaps then, something similar to regeneration? The human body regenerates and if that process could be more rapid, it would be ideal. Just imagine the practical applications. A plane explodes – sure, the passengers die, but at least you don’t lose a perfectly good plane.

Don’t go preaching to me the illogic of my ideas because yes, I understand that they’re farfetched and moronic. But right now, I wouldn’t have it any other way because this is simply the mood that I am in. Today, I got a lucky break, hoppers and lamb curry, I found out that some guy lost his virginity at age 5 to a 6 year old girl (female domination, how amusing) and I have a slab of chocolate downstairs with my name on it.

Lastly, to sum absolutely nothing of what I said up in very few words, I’m surprised that the Earth is still in one piece. Oh well, not to worry, we’ll figure something out to set that straight.

Credits: http://www.rd.com/ I never knew that people took Reader’s Digest seriously enough for it to have its own site.

– Deft

Comments»

1. Tnelson - October 1, 2009

Hey, great blog…but I don’t understand how to add your site in my rss reader. Can you Help me, please :)

2. Seng Aun - October 1, 2009

LOL hot korean. I know, Deft. I know..

And your experience with the plush teddy bear. How naive you were back then.

If you want something sturdy, get a baton. It’ll crack a skull, if not the spine.

Deft-Monkey - October 2, 2009

Something sturdy that I can hit. Not something that can hit me, thanks.

3. Seng Aun - October 2, 2009

Oh, I was suggesting the baton to hit someone, but you’ll get into deep trouble. Teddy bears work fine. Shit now I’m reminded of Teddymon with the heart across its chest. Or something like that.

4. christopher lemmer - November 3, 2009

tediursa :P


Leave a Reply

