jump to navigation

Oh! Is it so? January 27, 2010

Posted by Charith in Uncategorized.
trackback

Yes, it is so. So Nyuh Shi Dae’s 2nd full album is coming to town on the 28th (not actually in the country, of course, you’ll have to order it). What’s it called? Well, I’m glad I asked!

‘Oh!’ is the title of the album and also the first single on it, which, luckily for the world, was released on the 25th and now the MV is out and about! I didn’t really like the song first, but the music video turned me around, as usual.


I don’t quite understand it. It’s cute, but still has sexual appeal.

Because I’m lazy and I’m in low spirits due to having to return to school tomorrow, I’m just going to copy and paste my basic analysis and personal feelings concerning the ‘Oh!’ music video. I’ll probably add some more comments after it. Also, for any who don’t know what “TMYW” is, it’s an acronym for SNSD’s last promotional song, ‘Tell Me Your Wish (Genie)’. Now without further ado, I bring to you (Marshal!):

Before I forget – 2:29!!!! One still frame is a thousand words. At absolute least.

Okay, I’ll say it now before I get into any detail about the MV, this has made me like this song. Way to go director and choreographers.

I played the first 2 seconds of the MV first before pausing it to let the video buffer. The more I looked at it, the more I thought I was looking at the set of the ‘Beep’ MV for PCD, which is, yes, also very similar to that of the ‘Chu” MV for f(x). Even when I played it a second time, factor out the sound, and it’s pretty similar. However the similarities end there.

The choreography works really well in the MV with the costumes and I do like it better than the choreography for TMYW mainly because of the full body movement. However, I feel that (I could be wrong here) the technique required here is around the same and possibly less than for TMYW. It’s basically a lot of bouncing around, a leg kick here, a leg kick there, tummy rub, caress of the leg and wave your arms like you just don’t care. After TMYW it doesn’t really bother me, but it doesn’t have a signature dance move, like TMYW, ‘Mister’ by Kara or ‘Abracadabra’ by Brown-Eyed Girls. However, I think we’ll find that this doesn’t matter…

Why is that? The highly suggestive ending. Looks like sones are going to get their futuristic concept after all. Not only do we get to see the new looks of the girls (Jess is smokin’ hot, just putting it out there) but the music also changes. In my opinion, it sounds like music from a Western blockbuster film. I actually thought I was watching ‘The Matrix’ for a second or two there with the music and the black outfits. It’s dark, it’s spunky, it’s threatening and I’m really liking it already. I have the feeling it’ll be this next promotional song that will have a signature dance move.

I think it’s safe to say that this song marks the end of innocence in terms of the music of SNSD. I see the ending as a kind of final frontier. Only difference is that the girls are going to keep growing.

One more thing, looking at those outfits, I’m a little bit afraid of Slave now. Not so much about her theories, but more what her reaction must be.

For anyone curious, Slave is a a highly creative and entertaining author at the SNSDkorean WordPress blog. It doesn’t phase me if you consider this to be advertising or not because it doesn’t matter. If you’re interested in SNSD, you’ll probably visit there at least once, otherwise not. If you do choose to and you’re not liking the posts, check out some of hers (I know, a female on the internet – WHAT!?). One of the reasons why I kept going back there time and time again.

So the MV, what did you guys and girls think? It’s got energy and I like that. Those black outfits at the end were pretty appealing I thought. Not original, but an intriguing concept SM (SNSD’s company) are running with. I wonder if they’ll take the same direction with the newer group f(x)?

Before news of dates were disclosed by SM, they claimed that SNSD would be going with a futuristic and more mature theme in this album and from the looks of the ending of the MV, they’re going to deliver.

Well, I was encouraged to make a post tonight because I saw that Geo made one, which I suppose was enough. I hope I’m not bending that way, not that there’s anything wrong with it, but let’s wait and find out, shall we? I’m going to try making more regular posts again now that school’s resumed. I found that during the holidays, there’s really nothing to talk about. At least, I couldn’t think of anything. Let’s see how this all pans out. Also, I was serious about 2:29.

"'Cause I'd get a thousand hugs, from ten thousand lightning bugs" Oops, wrong song

Happy Holidays! (Seriously, I hope they were because no breaks for a long while)

Credits: SNSDkorean WordPress

zoolander @ JPH!P

– Deft

Comments»

1. Sunny - January 28, 2010

sorry I didn’t read the whole post
but..
I love Ga In!
she’s like my favourite Korean person (girl)

Deft-Monkey - January 28, 2010

That’s fair enough, she is very cool, which I found out after watching ‘We Got Married’ with her and Jo Kwon. I admit that I watched it because of him, but she’s awesome. A very neat nickname – Scissor hands.

2. shotokid0 - January 29, 2010

I swear it reminds me of ‘Fired Up’.
Cept they’re not guys becoming cheerleaders for sex.

And I reckon Seobaby stands out here.

3. Seng Aun - February 14, 2010

Love your post, though I swear I’ve seen you mention “PCD” and “Beep” before somewhere. and nice, I see you promoting Slave303 here. LOL. she’s been MIA for the longest time. I wonder if Boss Lady and her went through a rough patch. but Oh! em Gee. you’re brilliant, as usual.

4. lemmer - February 20, 2010

not that interested by this blog whats coming next and when!?


Leave a Reply

