jump to navigation

All We Need is a Little Naivety March 17, 2010

Posted by Charith in News.
trackback

Naivety, of course, as everyone by now ought to know, makes you more idealistic in this world of ours.

Any geek is a friend of mine

It’s possible that because of this kid, I’m starting to believe that it’s this kind of thinking that the world needs to be changed into something better.

So at the Gay & Lesbian Alliance Against Defamation (GLAAD), there was a pretty amazing young whippersnapper who spoke and was given an award. Why? Basically, he refused to make the Pledge of Allegiance because gay and lesbian Americans cannot be legally wedded.

I say “Fair enough,” and “Way to go, kid.” For a 10 year old bean sprout like Will Phillips to be able to seemingly grasp the concept of the American political system, let alone defy it is, I believe, remarkable. Pre-pubescent, Will surely still has dreams of an improved world and while his ideas may come across as naive, they are not without impact or consequence. By consequence, I don’t mean what will happen to him next, but rather the implications of his thoughts on US politics and the world in general.

Will is young and to have moved up this far already will almost certainly reach more people than some group of animal rights activists. Not that their cause is any less deserving of attention, it’s just that being a child makes people around the world interested. It’s not often you get someone as intelligent (like most people, hoho) as him and Will’s only 10!

I usually tend to avoid those who are younger than me (especially high schoolers) because they have the inert ability to make me irritable, but I give my kudos to this kiddo. I appreciate his words and while I may not be gay myself, I have as much respect for anyone who chooses to take a sexual interest in those of the same sex as I do for any heterosexual. It doesn’t make them a bad person.

Seriously, I’ll take 3 of him, please.

“It is the fuel, lubricant and engine that drives the slowly-moving turtlemobile that is progress.”

I want to meet this inspirational kid and adopt him. Thanks so much to my friend Zay for showing me this last night.

Credits: http://www.afterellen.com/blog/afterelton/will-phillips-glaad-speech

glaadmedia @ YouTube

To quote a great modern day thinker – “Live long and prosper.”

– Deft

Comments»

1. healthnewstop - March 17, 2010

I must say this is a great article i enjoyed reading it keep the good work

2. Christopher Lemmer - March 17, 2010

this kid is truly inspirational! makes me want to work for a better world!

3. The Voice - March 21, 2010

Great post. Entertaining while sufficiently informative. Keep ’em coming Mr. Monkey.


Leave a Reply

