jump to navigation

We’ll Have You Going Gaga April 13, 2010

Posted by Charith in Music.
trackback

Believe it or not, this won’t be a post on Lady Gaga, wonderful as I think she is. Nope, time for me to shamelessly pimp some music to you that you’re hopefully quite unfamiliar with. If not, kudos to you for knowing such quality sounds. But first for something that you should have heard before. If you haven’t, watch it buddy, I’m going to come down on you like a tonne of bricks.

Chitty chitty bang bang, we love you!

So how is this family classic relevant to anything at all? Well, unless you’ve been stalking me on Facebook or Twitter, you’re about to find out!

I’m not sure about you, but the film ‘Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’ happens to be something I remember from my childhood. Indeed, it was made before my time, but as they say, it is a ‘timeless classic’. We all know it was a musical, but how does this fossil relate to women, Lady Gaga and aliens? Yes, I know it’s all much of a muchness.

I’ve got two words for you. One name, actually. Lee Hyori (or Hyori Lee if you want to be all western like Clint Eastwood what an ironic name). Don’t start running yet, this is where K-pop actually gets worthwhile even if you don’t like it. It’s hardly ‘Hyorish’ as people have come to describe some of her earlier music (which I like anyway). It’s not even K-poppish, which I personally think is great. K-pop, meet quality music.

So I made some comparisons earlier. Lady Gaga?

Check. Well, Gaga-esque, for I think we’re all agreed there’s only one true Gaga. Has Korea been watching her from afar, seems that way to me. I like, I like. Don’t go thinking Hyori has gone and copied her style completely though, because she’s done stuff like this in one of her older songs, ‘U-Go-Girl’. Hot girl walks into a bar – ouch.

I don’t know why Miss Hyori has  decided to take the name of a classic Western family film to use for one of her songs, but hey, I’m loving the music, so what’s the problem?

No problem at all, just good beats and dances, kids. Don’t be afraid, girls even take their tops off for all the perverts out there. Well, almost.

That Lee Hyori, she’s such a gangster. Mess with her? I wouldn’t recommend it. I think she is an alien, being over 30 years of age and still looking great, pumping out the beats. I’ve actually only watched the MV twice now because personally, I like the song better. However, watching it a second time just then, that dance break was worth my while. For sure.

So, boys and girls, why don’t you indulge yourself a little in the world of K-pop? Come to the dark side, it’s a lot more fun.

Credits:

shaush @ YouTube

girroxx123 @ YouTube

manwong0927 @ YouTube

– Deft

Comments»

1. ruraldaze - April 13, 2010

I hope it’s H-Logic that you bought from your trip around Sydney! Whole albums very western-ish, nothing K-Pop like. But at the end of listening to the whole album twice, I feel the need to go back to some good old KARA songs *plays If U Wanna* and then some SNSD. RDR doesn’t sound like K-pop either imo. Favourite song from H-Logic is “How Did We Get”, though it sounds like “T-shirt” by Shontelle. How bout your favourite?

Deft-Monkey - April 13, 2010

I wish, H-Logic wasn’t out when I went to the city. I got the Lupin mini-album and After School Bang! single. I was surprised that I got the After School one, but I actually quite like it. I was really refreshed by the lack of K-Pop, seeing as how far away from Western music it’s taken me. I’ve missed Western music so much. I’ve forced myself to start listening to all my other music again to prevent myself from getting sick of the album. In my opinion, RDR is still K-Poppish. It’s different, but you can tell that it belongs to the genre. Favourite song on the album is difficult, I like them all. I listen to ‘Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’ a lot. I’ve been trying to decide for about an hour or more now after reading your comment… It’s come down to a few that I can’t decide between. ‘Get 2 Know’, ‘Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’, ‘I’m Back’, ‘Highlight’ and ‘100 Percent’. Like I said, I like the album a lot. I think I like ‘Chitty Chitty Bang Bang’ a lot because it’s kind of making up for the disappointment I felt when SM didn’t use that instrumental from the RDR teaser for anything else. I find the intro rap by that guy in ‘Highlight’ hilarious, it sounds like he’s saying “Put ya one fit finger in the aiiirrrr.” I see what you mean about “T-Shirt” sounding like “How Did We Get” but I can’t like that song as much as I want to because that intro in the instrumental like the soul voices itches at me. It reminds me of some 90s pop song, I’m certain. Just don’t know what that song was.

I’m glad though, I can finally find what I consider to be a fault in many of the songs. Most if them start to suddenly, kind of throws the listener in a little too quickly. I love to criticise, it puts me at ease.


Leave a Reply

