jump to navigation

Polishing the Grey April 17, 2011

Posted by Charith in Observations.
Tags: ,
trackback

There’s a saying that every cloud has a silver lining. I assume that it refers to a grey cloud, because too many people enjoy interpreting the various forms of the ordinary yet undeniably happy assortment. If you think about it, silver is grey with a little sheen. Not even. I’m sure that raw silver isn’t terribly attractive.

Pretty colours aside, here’s the point – why not try manipulating a negative to turn your frown upside down? The math isn’t as difficult as you’d think and this is coming from someone who spent a week celebrating never having to learn the art of numbers again, only to find out that they would have to continue and revert back to basics in university.

Insomnia, or the inability to sleep (for those adamant against having a scary yet brilliantly named condition), creeps under the skin and into the brains of the best of us. You tell yourself, almost proudly, “I’m going to get a good night’s sleep tonight!” hopping into bed at some time that ought to be considered criminal and out of character, based on your track record.

Unfortunately, the universe, in its ‘larger than you’ power and wisdom, decides that you’re simply not allowed to get some shuteye. It’s a pain, I know. You lie helplessly as your flow of thoughts completely disregards your wellbeing, happily becoming an overwhelming torrent that keeps you from sleep. All your efforts end in failure, making you more exhausted and frustrated, yet still incapable of slumbering peacefully.

Well, you  know what? Let it burn. Let all that pent up frustration wither under your golden rays of manipulation. Can’t sleep? Fine. Good, even! Play a game in your head, or get out of bed and do whatever it is that people do at odd hours in the morning. One night, my brain didn’t feel like shutting off, so I got out of bed at 3am, went downstairs and made myself some omurice (AKA omelette rice ). I put in so much chilli sauce that I couldn’t tell the flowing tears apart from the nose runoff. Disgusting, but it made for some good, wholesome fun.

While staying awake means that you’re going to feel like someone three times your age during the day, what can you do about it? You’d might as well maximise the time in which you’ve got energy. On the other hand, you might be desperate to sleep, but it’s all about creating an event for you to look forward to if you stay up. For example, I got home at 2am today and went straight to bed. I was lying awake for a good few hours and when I checked the time, it was 5:17 in the morning. As much as I wanted to sleep, I couldn’t, but then I saw an upside in all of this. My dad happened to be leaving for the US at 7am today, so I knew that if I fell asleep, I wouldn’t be awake to see him off. When he opened my room door at 6:45am, I was ready. It’s certainly not perfect and a tad bit corny, (I d’awwwed) but it’s better than lying on your back and lamenting over something that’s just not going to happen.

So be strong and kick your brain in the face (figuratively, please).

Picture Credit: fmhweb.com

– Deft

Comments»

1. NinjAND1 (Lemmer) - April 19, 2011

:) Your posts always make me smile, especially ones like this which reiterate my own thoughts.


Leave a Reply

