jump to navigation

Keeping Current September 10, 2011

Posted by Charith in Observations.
trackback

Here’s something (amongst many, possible everything) that I am not an expert at. Consider what I’m doing at this very moment, as I start this post: I’m listening to Savage Garden’s Affirmation album, wondering why the title track reminds me of Friends so much. Not to mention the ‘The Animal Song’ – every time, it’s just waiting in anticipation to explode into ‘I Just Can’t Wait to be King’ from Disney’s The Lion King.

It's because of this that I no longer own a bicycle

I’m always up for a monumental number of blasts from the past, but it’s better to keep one’s head (and preferably every physical part of them) in the present. Right?

When my friends (let’s call them that for the time being) want to watch movies at someone’s house, I’m always the one to suggest something pre-90s. Obviously, because none of us existed before the decade, such films and other paraphernalia are truly ancient. Surely. I have no problem watching black & white. On the contrary, I used to stay up late to watch these movies on television, or else I’d hang out with my mother in the middle of the day in front of the box. That plasma screen box. Don’t worry guys, you can be hip like me someday as long as you don’t mind staying away from real people (said beings do not constitute your family.)

After finishing high school, instead of going and having fun in the real world, I went to houses (occasionally my own) and watched the whole first series of Digimon. The voice acting for the digital monsters was pretty awful, but at the same time, there are moments that you don’t want to forget, such as this:

Puppetmon: What is has four strings and is made of wood?

Joe, Mimi, Gomamon & Palmon: Puppetmon!

Puppetmon: No, a violin, but that’s a good guess.

Of course, context is essential, but it could be things like this or otherwise completely different that make you wonder what happened to the world to make it the way it is today. You might think: “Why are kids shows so bad nowadays, even though I still enjoy the ones from when I was little?” “Musicians have no talent anymore,” “My back hurts.” All highly valid musings, but once considered, all inconsequential in the grand scheme of the universe.

The way I see it, the problem with the present and the future is that it’s always changing and it’s oh-so bothersome trying to keep up to date. Real people call me a K-pop freak while internet… existences ask me if I really even like the scene as I’m far too lazy to find the music myself. When you look at the world like this, you can understand why it’s just simpler to cut yourself off from every current.

“But where’s the ridiculous, hypocritical contradiction?” you must be asking yourself at this point. Well, look at my finger – where is extending to? Here. The problem with sticking yourself years back is that it’s pretty much the same as living in another universe. If any of you read comics, you will probably be familiar with the concept of parallel universes. Actually, even if you don’t, I’m sure you get the idea, but as a reader of comic books, you would almost definitely think it a ‘cool’ concept in addition to being a familiar one. (familiar as in friendly? Hey there, I like your hair) As enjoyable and relevant to your interests as history may be, the real life applications dwindle as time moves forward. When I can time travel like Doctor Who, you can be my guest, but until then, Digimon Adventure is about as useful as my non-existent sonic screwdriver.

If you live in the past, you will never learn how to deal with the present. If you live in the present, you struggle as you make progress in keeping up with the times. If you’re me, you live in the present, look to the future every now and then, while doping up on nostalgia hits. I don’t know if that makes sense, but I don’t do drugs so sue me If you can do what I do without being me, then I have to applaud you and tell you that you’re onto something special, because functioning as a human being isn’t exactly my strong suit. I do try, though. Bonus points for the effort, right?

cr: As watermarked

– Deft

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

