jump to navigation

Still Listening? September 2, 2011

Posted by Charith in Music.
trackback

I am, which isn’t exactly conducive to the study I should be doing, but you know what? You can go shove your judgment into a pocket and keep it for some real life situation where someone will care. That’s the best kind of judgment.

Anyway, this one’s just a short post before I actually attempt to study for tomorrow’s test (on a Saturday – a Saturday) which I should, at this point in time and logically speaking (with a side dish of whipped whips), fail. Yet I won’t because, well you know how it is, I don’t want the risk of ever having to take a subject more than once. Ever.

So yes, thank you for the music, the songs I’m singing.

How many of you are familiar with the K-Indie music scene? Like I said before – pocket that judgment for another time. I know I’ve made posts about Korean Pop before, but I promise this, apart from the language, is quite different.

Despite whatever opinions you may have, while I listen to K-pop, I don’t respect it musically. It’s generally catchy, infectious and has semi-attractive idols performing it. K-Indie music, on the other hand, I respect. It’s not like the Indie scene we have here in Australia (American/Australian – I like both), but it is essentially about as alternative from the Korean Pop scene as hipster glasses are from everything good in the world. This is music that you listen to because it doesn’t induce headaches and is like butter for your ears, i.e. the taste is improved. Butter on toast, my old friend From what I’ve heard, which isn’t terribly much, a lot of the music is pretty acoustic, but pretty much anything Korean and musical that isn’t poppy comes under the K-Indie classification, so you’ll find your rock songs here.

The first K-Indie band I listened to was CNBLUE. They’re the most mainstream of the lot and basically considered part of the K-pop scene, even appearing on the weekly music shows when promoting. Over here, we’d probably say they’re a pop-rock band.

You can ignore the video part of the song. Fun fact: the girl is half Japanese, half Australian. Also, guys in a girl’s room – such a taboo. Ban that, Korea, you know you want to (oho, so topical.)

Now for the real reason I made this post: J Rabbit. They do a lot of covers as well as writing their own music and that’s all I’m going to say. You’ll just have to listen to them. Or not, it’s your choice.

(The singing starts at around 0:45)

Credits: friendznet @ Youtube

 ________________________________________________________

One day I’ll write again and it won’t be about music. Probably. For now though, I’m going to the KPOP Music Fest in Sydney this November, so come at me.

– Deft

Comments»

1. Mr Huen - September 5, 2011

HELLS YEAH NIIGGA!

Deft-Monkey - September 5, 2011

It’s dangerous for you to pose as other people.


Leave a comment